zur normalen Ansicht

Picture Atlas > Concepts 


Four Freedoms
Four Freedoms
Source: Zeitbilder No. 8, 2002

→ enlarged image

Picture Analysis
The concept of a common economic area was from the beginning at the centre of the European Integration Project: The establishment of a common market, a single European market, was to make economic cooperation between the member states easy, free from customs duties and trade barriers.

The so-called "Four Freedoms" present this emphasis of the European Integration Project as an economic project; they are shown in the picture above: The illustration from the school textbook, "Pictures of the Time 8" shows the EU conceived as an economic community. The single market concept and the four freedoms are important basic principles of the EC/EU and they form at the same time a foundation for political spheres.

© Demokratiezentrum Wien

About the Project

The Picture Atlas is an outcome of the project ICONCLASH. Collective Icons and Democratic Governance in Europe

Demokratiezentrum Wien
Hegelgasse 6 / 5, A - 1010 Wien
Tel.: +43 / 1 / 512 37 37, Fax.: +43 / 1 / 512 37 37-20