zur normalen Ansicht

Knowledge > Pictures 


Here you can find the pictures provided on our virtual knowledge center. Please note, that on this page we solely offer pictures with descriptions and analyses in English; the German version of our virtual knowledge center contains much more data.


A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  all 


A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  all


→ enlarged image

Picture Analyses:

The European Integration Project went through several stages to reach the EU-27:

→ In 1951, six countries, Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands signed the treaty for the founding of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC). These countries intensified their cooperative work through the formation of the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM): The three organizations were amalgamated in 1958 to establish the European Communities (EC).
→ With the first round of expansion in 1973, Great Britain, Ireland and Denmark joined the EC.
→ In 1981 Greece joined.
→ In 1986 Spain and Portugal joined.
→ The next expansion of the European Union (thus named since 1993) occurred in 1995 when Austria, Sweden and Finland joined.
→ On 1 May 2004, 10 more states became members: Malta, Cyprus, Slovenia, Hungary, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Poland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.
→ 2007 has brought in Bulgaria and Rumania as two further members.

The map shown here reproduces the development of the EU up to 1995 and in it the "old" members are shown in a darker yellow than the "new" ones.

Source: Fakten und Zahlen zur Europaeischen Union , Brussels 2004, p. 5 © European Commission 2004

Keywords: Expansion of the European Union, European integration, European Union

© Demokratiezentrum Wien

Picture Atlas EUrope

Images of Europe

Demokratiezentrum Wien
Hegelgasse 6 / 5, A - 1010 Wien
Tel.: +43 / 1 / 512 37 37, Fax.: +43 / 1 / 512 37 37-20